General — TransplantLyfe

General

How do you normally handle a common cold?

KarinExpert
Transplant Patient
Updated March 4, 2021 in General

I woke up w a plain stupid regular cold and as a transplant patient I am supposed to be more careful but for the past few years I have 1) had less colds than my family in general 2) handled them better BUT in the first few years post transplant I was hospitalized a few times due to URI, GI infections and even blisters in my mouth... perhaps our immune systems get used to the immune suppression over time and can handle common bugs??? How do you handle colds? A) Rest B) seek care or C) simply take Tylenol and continue w work??

1 - 13 of 13 Replies

• AliEm14Expert
    Transplant Patient

I have yet to get a common cold. I'm still in my first year post transplant and it seems everything I've gotten has been serious! If I was a little further out and slightly more stable, I think I would handle things differently. But as per my coordinator's instructions, I would just lay low, take tylenol, drink plenty of fluids and watch and wait. If I ended up with a high fever, symptoms that lasted longer than expected or began throwing up to the point where I could no longer keep down my anti-rejection meds, I would seek treatment.

March 4, 2021
  • ChefAmandaTransplant Patient

I do a mixture of rest, Tylenol and essential oils. Only if I can’t take my transplant medication for any reason or can’t break a fever do I get my team involved.

March 5, 2021
  • KarinExpert
    Transplant Patient

Agree w both - today is first morning I feel a little better!

March 7, 2021

@Karin I’m glad your feeling better.

March 8, 2021
  • AliEm14Expert
    Transplant Patient

@ChefAmanda what oils do you use? I’m an oil user too and so far haven’t found anything that counteracts with my transplant treatment but I’m always curious about other peoples experiences

March 8, 2021