Liver — TransplantLyfe

Liver

Tacrolimus and progesterone

AliEm14Expert
Transplant Patient
January 24, 2022 in Liver

So I’ve been talking for a while about my issues with elevated ALP. It’s more common in small patients (which I am) and female donors, and it’s been kind of accepted this will always be something I struggle with.

i’ve been tracking my ALP flare ups for a few months and consistently they happen during the luteal phase of my cycle. Like it’s a running joke that if I have high ALP we know I’m going to start my period soon. And they lower themselves within a week or so (which would be when I move from luteal to menstrual phase).

I’ve been talking to other transplant patients who have also had higher ALP levels in conjunction with their hormone levels, which I noted as weird. I knew there had to be something there but I’m not a science person, and I also know very little research has been done using female test subjects.

so recently I was looking up tacrolimus for an herbalism course I’m taking, finding out how exactly it works in the body to avoid herbs that interact with tacrolimus in any way. And I discovered one of the thing tacrolimus does it potentiates (amplifies) progesterone in the body. when you think about it, the luteal phase is when a woman is at peak progesterone level.

so, being the curious cat I am, I looked up progesterone and the liver. One of the things high progesterone does is cause elevated ALP levels.

in my head it’s so obvious this is a contributor to my struggles.

does anyone know if there’s been any research done on hormone levels (specifically progesterone) and tacrolimus?

1 - 1 of 1 Replies

• AliEm14Expert
    Transplant Patient

I thought I’d share what I came across, in case anyone else is searching.