General — TransplantLyfe

General

Accountability Buddies

AliEm14Expert
Transplant Patient
February 22, 2023 in General

I wrote a post today talking about my experience getting back in the gym after my latest transplant surgery adventures, and how much working out for me is wrapped up in trauma. I am choosing to see this as an opportunity to meet my body in new ways, and even though it's hard reminding myself I can do hard things.

Is anybody else feeling similarly when it comes to actually working out and doing the things you know you should be doing? What role do you think trauma plays in your daily habits and routines relating to your body? And does anybody want to be accountability buddies because I'm gonna need some help in making sure I'm moving my body and not giving up when it gets hard!

"I sent a text to my friend the other day saying I don’t know how to move through the world without being incredibly sick. I’ve never done it before. Post transplant I had maybe 3 months where I wasn’t actively recovering from surgery before my abdominal wall shattered.

I’ve been diving into what this says about me, how trauma can create experiences in the body.

I am 3 months and a day out from my abdominal wall replacement surgery, and I shared on my instagram that over the weekend I both went axe throwing for a friend’s birthday and did a workout with my professional athlete brother. I spent the weekend at my parents’ house, where I also stayed while recovering from surgery, and the last time I was there I couldn’t walk up the stairs. And I kept thinking about how much things have changed, even in 3 short months.

If I’m honest, my body is doing exactly what it was made to do, and I find this deeply unsettling. When you are born in a house on fire, that begins to feel normal, and when the smoke clears it can feel like a threat.