General — TransplantLyfe

General

Epogen Injection?

JeanmarieTransplant Patient
August 30, 2023 in General

Has anyone here had to give themselves an Epogen injection? Before my transplant, I remember receiving them from the doctor's office. But now they want me to do it at home. Seems simple enough. Just nervous because I've never done it before. Any tips?

Tagged:

1 - 16 of 16 Other Answers

• TServoldTransplant Patient

Is this an intravenous injection or a subcutaneous? Epogen is used for anemia, right? I think I got it via IV after my transplant. The infusion center nurse talked to me about possibly needing to maintain at home after my initial round in the infusion center. It seemed simple enough, but I was coming from a T1D background and subcutaneous injections had been a part of my life for so long. I am curious if it burns like the IV push, though.

August 30, 2023
  • JeanmarieTransplant Patient

It's a subcutaneous. This will definitely be my first time doing any subcutaneous on my own. Before the transplant, I remember those injections would burn when pushed through. I am wondering the same thing now. Someone giving it and it burns is one thing. But I am concerned if I am doing it my reaction will be to stop.

August 30, 2023
  • TServoldTransplant Patient

remember the tips and tricks that worked well during IV... hot packs were my go-to. or warm blankets, or heating pad. Also, the vein reacts very differently than a sub-Q. That doesn't mean there won't be any burning, but quite possibly less. I think it's worth asking the question here, and from your providers too. I had an insulin that would burn during injection, and I just had to learn to push slow and take my time. In my experience SubQ injections really aren't bad. I have done some vitamins, and insulin.

August 30, 2023