General — TransplantLyfe

General

How long should we wait between getting the flu shot & COVID vaccination?…R you getting both?

JayTransplant Patient
September 26, 2023 in General

Could you please answer at least yes or no to whether you are getting both flu shot and Covid vaccination.

1 - 15 of 15 Replies

• JayTransplant Patient

I didn’t mean to ask anyone to share really personal information… I’m relatively new to the platform. I’m just getting such a great experience with people helping people.

September 26, 2023
  • coopscadoopTransplant Patient

Yes to both simultaneously. They offer this at my kidney transplant clinic.

September 26, 2023
  • DebTransplant Patient

I’m definitely getting the flu shot but I’m not really sure about the Covid. My PCP will not do them at the same time in case of a rare reaction.

September 27, 2023
  • MelsammTransplant Patient

I have decided not to have either, never started the Covid back in 2020. I am nervous to put anything else in my body.

September 27, 2023
  • Charles_Williams_SrTransplant Patient

One suggestion I read that seemed to have some merit is to get the RSV now, then the flu & Covid shots in October, based on timing maximum effectiveness with the predicted peak months of the individual infectious periods.

Personally, last week my wife and I looked at each other and agreed, “Let’s just get this done.” We both received all 3 shots (RSV, Covid, Flu) in one setting, both shoulders. Neither of us experienced any problems except for the usual local muscle soreness at the injection sites, which resolved after 3-4 days.

September 27, 2023
  • JayTransplant Patient